Pacific Union College HomePitcairn Islands Study Center Home
Study Center Bligh & Bounty Pitcairn Island Norfolk Island PUC Library

The Study Center  

Center Resources  


Articles from Media  

Center News Releases  

Bligh & Bounty  

Pitcairn Island  

Norfolk Island  

Study Center Home

Center Store  

Contact Us  

Site Map  


News Release

Pitcairn Islands Study Center, 1 Angwin Ave., Angwin, California USA Herbert Ford - - 707-965-6625 - 707-965-2047


PITCAIRN ISLAND, South Pacific Ocean, December 18, 2009 ------- Pitcairn Islanders have cast votes in an annual election for the deputy mayor and four members of the Island Council who will run day-to-day affairs of the tiny South Pacific isle for 2010.

Some 45 registered voters on the island have elected Simon Young as deputy mayor, replacing Jay Warren who has held the office in 2009.

Elected to the Pitcairn Island Council as councilors were Brenda Christian, Dave Brown, Lea Brown and Jay Warren. While Brenda Christian and Dave Brown were reelected as councilors, Lea Brown and Jay Warren replaced Jacqui Christian and Turi Griffiths who have been councilors in 2009.

Pitcairn islander Michael Warren's position as mayor and head of the Island Council for 2010 was not subject to election this year.


Pitcairn Islands Study Center, 1 Angwin Ave., Angwin, CA, USA. Herbert Ford, 707-965-6625, 707-965-2047, Fax: 707-965-6504, Email:, Website: